BUPA Excellence in Health

Excellence in Health Journalism Awards Now Open

Journalists and media professionals are invited to enter the Excellence in Health Journalism Awards.

Bupa-wht_cyan-boxThe major sponsor of the Awards is Bupa a leading international healthcare group offering personal and company financed
health insurance and medical subscription products, run hospitals, provide workplace health services, home healthcare, health
assessments and long-term condition management services. Bupa is also a major international provider of nursing and
residential care for elderly people, with services also including primary care and diagnostic centres and dental centres.



20100223-tpl-MedicinesAustralia-JPEGCategory sponsor Medicines Australia is the industry group promoting positive health outcomes, productivity and economic growth
through the availability of innovative prescription medicines.



Entries for the Excellence in Health Journalism Awards.

Submissions are due by FRIDAY 2 SEPTEMBER 2016 and should be lodged as follows:

Five copies of each submission including five copies of any videotapes, audiotapes of press clips accompanied by a brief written statement backgrounding the submission and a current CV of the applicant should be posted or delivered to:

The Awards Co-ordinator
National Press Club of Australia
PO Box 6184
Kingston ACT 2604


Overall best story across all categories and formats.

The Health Journalist of The Year will receive Qantas Business airfare and accommodation for health related study tour to the value of $10,000.


HEALTH POLICY – Includes health, health policy, health politics, federal and state issues
HEALTH INNOVATION – Includes health research, health technology, innovations in health
AGEING – Includes ageing, healthy ageing, quality of life as we age, ageing policy
HEALTH BUSINESS – Includes health, health business, health sector
DOCUMENTARY – Across the health sector

Each Award category has a cash prize worth $1,000.

Winner of the 2014 Excellence in Health Award Announced

2014 Excellence in Health AwardNational Press Club President Mr Laurie Wilson today congratulated Ann Arnold, of ABC Radio National, on winning this year’s National Press Club Health Journalist of the Year Award.

Ann was named as one of the five category winners for her report on ABC RN’s Background Briefing ‘Big Food Fight’.
Her prize as overall winner is an international study tour with a focus on health and medical issues.
The award was presented by the Minister for Health, the Hon. Sussan Ley, prior to her Address to the National Press Club.

The full list of winners are:

Health Business
Winner – David Brill, Australian Doctor, ‘Selling Out’
Commendation – Paul Smith, Australian Doctor, ‘Breathless Without You’

Health Innovation
Winner – Sarah Hender, the Advertiser SA Weekend, ‘Rebuilding Gabriel’

Health Policy
Winner – Ann Arnold, ABC Radio National, ‘Big food fight’

Winner – Jill Margo, Australian Financial Review, ‘“I am well, but recently I had a mastectomy,” Nick Greiner, former Premier of NSW’
Commendation – Lisa Thomas, The Geraldton Guardian, ‘Killing me softly’

– Peter Waterman, Australian Pharmacist, ‘If You Drink From A Bottle Marked Poison’
Commendation – Ann Arnold, ABC Radio National, ‘Doctors as Dealers: Australia’s opioid habit’
Commendation – Dr Graham Phillips(reporter), Geraldine McKenna(producer) and Roslyn Lawrence(Co-Producer and Researcher), ABC TV Catalyst, ‘Gut Reaction’
Commendation – Heather Wiseman, Australian Doctor, ‘In Deep’


Health Journalist of the Year Winners

2003 Deb Richards  Australian Doctor
2004 Christine Jackman Weekend Australian Magazine
2005 Hedley Thomas Courier Mail
2006 Jill Margo Australian Financial Review
2007 Roy Eccleston The Weekend Australian
2008 Paul Smith Australian Doctor
2009 Paul Smith Australian Doctor
2010 Emma Young Cosmos Magazine
2011 Sonya Pemberton Pemberton Films
2012 Heather Wiseman Australian Rural Doctor
2013 Sonya Pemberton Genepool Productions
2014 Ann Arnold ABC Radio National